BREAKING: Sarah Wollaston MP resigns the Conservative whip

Wednesday 20th February 2019 10:12 am
Dr Sarah Wollaston MP ()

Subscribe newsletter

Subscribe to our email and get updates right in your inbox.

Dr Sarah Wollaston MP, alongside two other Conservative MPs have decided to resign the party whip.

In a co-written letter addressed to Theresa May, Sarah Wollaston, MP for the Totnes constituency, Anna Soubry MP, and Heidi Allen MP, said they could no "longer remain in a remain in the party of a Government whose policies and priorities are so firmly in the grip of the ERG and DUP."

Dr Wollaston said on social media: "From the outset, I have made the case for a centrist, moderate and outward looking approach to our politics.

"I assure you that I will continue to take that approach but will now do so as an independent MP."

More on this story in Friday’s paper.

More About:



To leave a comment you need to create an account. |

All comments 0